Join Friends of the Earth Asia Pacific, Friends of the Earth International, and Palestinian Environmental NGOs Network (PENGON/Friends of the Earth Palestine) for this online event to discuss the Israeli Occupation and Forced Annexation: How Palestinians will further lose their lands and livelihoods.

Palestinians have been denied access and control over their land, borders and natural resources, especially water, for decades, under Israeli occupation. Israel’s current plans to forcefully annex parts of Palestinian land seem to aim for a declaration of permanent sovereignty over these territories. Come and listen to Dr. Abedelrahman Tamimi (Chairperson) and Abeer Butmeh (Coordinator) of the Palestinian Environmental NGOs Network (PENGON/Friends of the Earth Palestine), and Karin Nansen, Chair of Friends of the Earth International touch on the history of the Occupation, what the forced annexation is all about, the threats and impacts on Palestinian lands and lives, how the international community has responded and what more can be done to denounce Israel’s plan.

RSVP HERE


EVENT DETAILS

Date: Thursday, September 10, 2020
Time: Ramallah 4:00 PM, Montevideo 10:00 AM, Amsterdam 3:00 PM, UTC/GMT: 1:00 PM, Dhaka 7:00 PM, Kuala Lumpur & Manila 9:00 PM, Tokyo & Seoul 10:00 PM, Melbourne 11:00 PM
Language: The conversation will take place in English, with interpretation available in Arabic, Spanish and French.
Register here: zoom.us/meeting/register/tJcpd-mgpz0vH90IQ1HXcROhJSe1K_70U463
After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.
Please note: This is an online event that will be held via zoom — RSVP is essential!


SPEAKERS

Dr. Abedelrahman Tamimi, Chairperson, Palestinian Environmental NGOs Network (PENGON/Friends of the Earth Palestine) 
Abeer Butmeh, Coordinator, Palestinian Environmental NGOs Network (PENGON/Friends of the Earth Palestine)                
Karin Nansen, Chair, Friends of the Earth International
Moderator: Syeda Rizwana Hasan, Chief Executive, Bangladesh Environmental Lawyers Association (BELA/Friends of the Earth Bangladesh)

ISSUES TO BE COVERED

  • The history of the occupation
  • What Israel’s annexation implies in the context of occupied Palestine
  • The threats and impacts of annexation on Palestinian lands and lives
  • How the international community has responded
  • What more can be done to denounce Israel’s plans

For inquiries about the event, contact – apacrf@gmail.com

%d bloggers like this: